U2 + Gospel Choir – I still haven’t found what I’m looking for

The year is 1987, and a group of musicians with a rockstar attitude bordering on mannerism decides to visit a church in Harlem to make a hymn out of their song “I still haven’t found what I’m looking for”. The musical clash is very palpable, it’s not a work of genius, but it’s a nice and interesting enough moment. Does anyone else think the honesty and authenticity of the choir makes the band a little self-conscious? 

The year is 2016, and a four-week-long journey on another continent comes to an end for me. Working in the Brooklyn Public Library this morning, feeling in transition somehow, I felt the need to listen to some very american choir music, and somehow, Youtube found this one for me. It fits my mood perfectly. It’s not that I haven’t found what I’m looking for – I have found many things these past few weeks. But deep down, to know that you won’t ever be done looking for things (which may change along the way) is very comforting. In music alone, you just know you won’t ever have heard everything. For instance, you could listen to another version of the song, U2 featuring Bruce Springsteen. Do it right now, you will instantly feel better. Or even better.

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar